Skip to content
$5 FLAT RATE SHIPPING. FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS $100+.
$5 FLAT RATE SHIPPING. FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS $100+.

The Best Coast: A Road Trip Atlas Illustrated Adventures along the West Coast's Historic Highways

$ 24.95

From a co-author of the award-winning Dead Feminists, this quirky illustrated travel guide and atlas follows historic routes up and down the West Coast.

What better place for a road trip than the West Coast (the best coast, by any measure)? From San Diego, California, all the way up to the Olympic Peninsula in Washington State, you'll find off-the-beaten-path adventures up and down the coast. This charming illustrated guide features both the coastal route via historic Highways 101 and 1 (the PCH) and an inland route up Highway 99, showcasing the natural beauty along the shore while also connecting the traveler to major cities and other attractions. Includes side trips to destinations such as Catalina Island, Joshua Tree National Park, Sequoia and Yosemite National Parks, wine country, Crater Lake National Park, the Columbia River Gorge, Mount Rainier National Park, the San Juan Islands, and Vancouver, BC. Also includes in-depth city guides to San Diego, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Sacramento, Portland, and Seattle. Chock-full of unusual facts, hidden history, roadside attractions, and Americana, this offbeat road trip through California, Oregon, and Washington tells a story of the diversity and depth that created the West Coast we know and love today, showcasing both the ever-changing present and vestiges of the past for those who slow down to look. Perfect for fans of Atlas Obscura, Rebecca Solnit, and Julia Rothman.

CHANDLER O'LEARY is an illustrator and lettering artist, and a graduate of the Rhode Island School of Design. She is the co-author of Dead Feminists: Historic Heroines in Living Color and the author of an illustrated travel blog called Drawn the Road Again. She lives in Tacoma, Washington, and spends every spare moment traveling America's winding back roads, sketchbook in hand.

  • Paperback
  • 7 x 10-1/2
  • 224 pages